comfort food: candied sweet potatoes

08Jan13

Me and the kitchen aren’t always besties, but we have our moments. The roomie and I have been talking about our traditional Christmas dinners since we, well, missed ours this year.

So I told her how mom would cook creamed onions and taters and candied sweet potatoes. And not just candied, but covered in marshmallows. And that’s when Meg’s mouth began to drool.

It was then we decided we would make them at our apartment. And that’s what we did tonight.

Now cooking in the apartment means we make traditionally non-vegan foods, well, vegan.

So I found a recipe online for candied sweet potatoes and played with it. By played with it, I mean I didn’t measure a thing and I took out ingredients.

The result: Heaven.

Vegan Candied Sweet Potatoes

Vegan Candied Sweet Potatoes

What I did:

For the Filling:

  • Cubed* sweet potatoes (1″cubes)
  • Maple syrup
  • Brown sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Dairy-free soy magarine, softened
  • Pepper

For the Pecan Topping:

  • Brown sugar
  • Wheat flower
  • Chopped candied pecans (we had candied all of our pecans already)
  • Soy margarine, softened

Secret Ingredient: Vegan Marshmallows

From there, I cooked the potatoes as directed and mixed the ingredients. Added what I decided it needed based on overcorrecting what I did before. Then I added the topping and stuck it in the oven.

About 30 minutes later, I added the vegan marshmallows to learn they melt differently (I should have known). So after about 5-ish minutes, I turned the oven to broil and let it be until they were puffy and brown and looked like they would pop. Turned out pretty dandy.

No Responses Yet to “comfort food: candied sweet potatoes”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

