chili cookoff

06Jan13

One of my favorite foods might be chili, but I have two problems:

  1. I don’t eat meat
  2. I loathe beans

So I can never really eat chili unless I cook it–which let’s be honest, cooking for one is just no fun.

But I am on a mission to cook more, and so on this cold and rainy day, I took out my giant pot and gave a crack to homemade cornbread and chili. The catch? Had to be vegan and couldn’t be too spicy (the roommate cannot handle spice).

So I went on the Internet looking for recipes to make the ideal chili that wasn’t “lame” by being “vegetarian,” etc. (Apparently the best way to make vegetarian chili is to weaken it and have it be less awesome or load it up with beans).

I found one at a “man’s site” that looked pretty great. And from there I tweaked it.

The result: sex sounds in the kitchen.

Vegan cornbread and chili

Vegan cornbread and chili

What I did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 Packages of veggie beef
  • 3 cans diced tomatoes (the Trader Joe’s ones with the kick to ’em)
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 big bottle beer
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • Carrots, sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 2 zucchinis, cubed
  • 1 large white onion, diced
  • 2 jalopeno peppers, minced
  • 1 block veggie bouillon
  • Orange pepper
  • chili powder
  • Cumin
  • Oregano
  • Paprika
  • Chili powder
  • brown sugar
  • Salt and pepper

I started by heating the meat in a pan with one clove of crushed garlic, while I mixed the paste, beer and tomatos in a big pot. After added the “meat,” I started adding veggies as I cut them with the sauce on a low boil with the lid on. It takes me a while to cut veggies, so it was about an hour. I started with the onion and pepper, then went through the veggies. Stirring randomly. After all the veggies were added, I added the spices and a lot of brown sugar. Then I let it simmer for about an hour.

We combined it with brown rice and cornbread with agave nectar, and topped it with cheese (and the roomie added vegan sour cream).

All in all, it was a wonderful meal.

No Responses Yet to “chili cookoff”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

